PDA

View Full Version : First Race?

rburns-09
10-13-2006, 01:10 AM
I finished my 3day with Skip Barber and im schedualed to do my Car Control and 2day very soon. Before I get into my first season I want to know how you guys did your first races?

I have to say im a bit nervous about the set up considering I have no experience in racing, nor was never a fan of the sport up to a few years ago.

So give me some stories on your guys first races, good or bad :)

rgreist
10-13-2006, 01:53 AM
Just try to finish. If you get lapped, no big deal. I did!

If you win, big deal! I didn't!

Good luck!

rf360m
10-13-2006, 08:24 AM
That's it - just try to finish!

In pratice get used to running with cars around you, but let them go if they are faster. It's not a race, and if you let them go, it'll be safer and you can see where they are quicker than you.

In qualifying don't think that you are going to go out and set pole and end up pushing too hard then spin. You have 18 minutes and only have to do 1 lap. So go out, do a couple of warm up laps (95% or so) then find a clear peice of track and do the best, cleanest lap you can. Don't run around in traffic because it'll just slow you down.

If you are not in the first group, then watch the start of the first race. See when the green flag comes out, how the cars are positioned, how the go into turn one, and anything else that you think you'd like to know about.

My first race was at Lime Rock, where I started near the back and finished 9th (which was actually last because quite a few people spun off or crashed).

If there's anything you are not sure about, just ask. Everyone will be more than willing to help you out.

And above all, have fun!

JonMiller
10-13-2006, 10:29 PM
Just keep your eyes open, learn as much as you can and above all... HAVE FUN! Don't put too much pressure on yourself, just go out there and get your first race weekend under your belt. Don't be afraid to ask questions either.