PDA

View Full Version : FNG

Chuckleski212
11-03-2012, 01:25 PM
Hey Skippyforums,

My name is Charlie Powell, I am 25 years old and live in Vermont. First began with SB in my 3 day this summer at Limerock, continued with a track day before the Formula Series event (also Limerock) and have just finished my 2-day ADV at Laguna Seca this week. I am also enrolled in the IndyCar Academy.

I got into racing when I was about 8 years old, but on snow instead of tarmac. I raced alpine until I was 22, play rugby currently, and hoping to begin a different racing career with skip barber in April '13!

I was introduced to the website through my 3 day classes by Phil Lombardi.

Here in Vermont I live on one of my favorite mountain gaps, Appalachian Rt. 17. I drive a '06 Audi S4. I've only driven with Skip Barber on track, so I'm exclusive to the SBF2000.

My future plans for racing are to compete and win the IndyCar Academy.

I am a coach and race technician for the Green Mountain Valley School. We are a ski racing academy near Sugarbush.

ps- WE GOT SNOW LAST NIGHT!

oldredracer
11-03-2012, 06:06 PM
Let's see... you're in shape. You know all about high eyes. You have reflexes. You've trained with some good guys. Didn't somebody say that success is one part inspriation and 9 parts perspiration? Sounds like you're good to go.

Glubags
11-03-2012, 07:03 PM
I imagine racing on skis requires good balance, understanding of physics, and a feel for grip. Sounds familiar enough! Good luck in the ICA! Keep us posted on your progress.

alangbaker
11-03-2012, 09:37 PM
Always good to run into a fellow ex-skiracer, Charlie. You were looking good out there Did you get any video taken and hence know any lap times?

Who knows, maybe we'll get a chance to race each other some time.

Alan

dalyduo
11-03-2012, 09:56 PM
Welcome aboard Charlie,